CG + Archviz

My first contact with modelling and rendering was during my Bachelor’s Degree in Architecture, back in 2006. Even though the program demanded analog, pen technical drawings, I was soon introduced my CAD programs who were industry standards back then, followed by a natural evolution to 3d design.

render7render18render19

I was never the kind of guy who learns by standing in a class reading books, so I learned the basics of 3dsmax all by myself, just by reading internet articles and tips. From basic poly modelling to advanced lighting, texturing, and rendering techniques I developed my own way of getting things done in 3d space.


My architectural career was challenging, fun, hard and beautiful. But I decided to try something else when I realized I was more satisfied by rendering buildings than by actually building them.


I have also been able to work with Rhino. I love its nurbs modelling tools and I was very proud of getting my first parametric design on Grasshopper, a very complex node-based tool.

GIFRENDER8.gif


For guys with few processing power and no fancy video cards like me, post production is where the magic happens thanks to PS.

gifrender6.gif

This portfolio is not a software critique blog, but eventually 3dsmax started to look a little unpolished to me. Of course that few things can beat the production monster it is, but there is little attention to design and usability on its development. I have just been introduced to Cinema4d and after years used to Autodesk’s stiff workflow I find it a breeze to use a 3d software that actually looks like it was made for designers.

